The World Jurist Association will award the World Peace and Liberty Award to Andrew Young, symbol of US civil rights

To mark its 60th anniversary, the World Jurist Association (WJA) goes back to its roots to celebrate the World Law Congress 2023 this year. It will turn the city of New York into the world capital of law with the celebration of this 2-day event in which global leaders including heads of State, magistrates, political leaders, academics, lawyers, activists, and students, will discuss a wide variety of current topics to which the judicial community aim to propose solutions.

The 28th edition of this conference will take place on the 20 and 21 July at the United Nations Headquarters and the New York City Bar Association and it will count on the participation of 250 panelists from across the world to discuss a wide variety of judicial topics on more than 35 round tables.


Two days of discussion on the judicial world

The World Law Congress will start on the morning of the 20 July with the celebration of varying simultaneous round tables at the Headquarters of the New York City Bar Association, that will bring together more than 250 international panelists to talk about an extensive range of judicial issues throughout the day.

On their behalf, the closing ceremony will be celebrated in the ECOSOC Chamber of the United Nations Headquarters on the 21 July. During the day, the World Peace and Liberty Award will be given to the European Commission for its commitment to the promotion of peace through law and the Rule of Law. Ursula von der Leyen, president of the European Union institute, will receive this award personally.

This prize, rated by many as the Nobel Prize in Law, is the highest recognition that the World Jurist Association awards. Previously, it has been awarded to Sir Winston Churchill, Nelson Mandela, René Cassin, Felipe VI King of Spain, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and most recently, the Colombian Society, received by their president, Iván Duque.


The Opening Session New York

The official presentation to the press and the local jurist community of the World Law Congress 2023 took place during the Opening Session New York that was carried out this past 13 April at the United Nations Headquarters.

This conference is part of the various sessions that have been held since last July in different cities around the world to discuss the role of the Rule of Law in facing the main challenges of today’s society. Patricia Lee Refo and Hilarie Bass who were presidents of the American Bar Association, were the masters of ceremony.

The Opening Session New York program included a panel discussion on the Rule of Law, Corporate Governance and the Climate, as well as the bestowing of WJA Medals of Honor to honorable individuals, including:

  • Steven Breyer (USA): Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States between 1994 and 2022.
  • Kerry Kennedy (USA): president of the Robert F. Kennedy Foundation Human Rights.
  • Ignacio Sánchez Galán (Spain): president of Iberdrola.
  • Richard Wagner (Canada): president of the Supreme Court of Canada.
  • Luis Almagro (Uruguay): secretary general of the Organization of American States.
  • Luis Lavrysen (Belgium): president of the Supreme Court of Belgium and president of the European Union Forum of Judges for the Environment.
  • Brian Preston (Australia): president of the Land and Environment Court of New South Wales.

This is an acknowledgement that, since 1965, the World Jurist Association has awarded to recognize outstanding individuals at a global level from as much a legal perspective as defending human rights and that in the past it has been received by prime ministers, presidents, ministers, attorneys, judges, academics, lawyers, heads of international organizations and prominent members of the WJA that have largely contributed to the achievements of the organization’s objectives.

Previous The World Jurist Association will host an Opening Session in New York this coming 13 April

More Information

Home Office

World Jurist Association © 2023. All Rights Reserved