International Jurist Award

WJA President Awarded International Jurist Award 2013

Prof. Dr. Alexander J. Belohlavek, President of the World Jurist Association, was awarded the prestigious International Jurist Award 2013 during the International Conference of Jurists held in New Delhi, India on November 29, 2013.

Prof. Belohlavek was selected to receive this rule of law award “in recognition of his substantive efforts in promoting alternative dispute resolution mechanisms which have served as an effective mode of dispensation of justice. He has encouraged and supported the use of arbitration and mediation as efficient methods of securing amicable settlement of disputes.”

The award was delivered through Dr. Adish C. Aggarwala, President of the International Council of Jurists and Chairman of All India Bar Association, on December 9, 2013 at a ceremony held in Prague under the auspice of the President of the Czech Bar Association JUDr. Vladimír Jirousek mp, and in the presence of the Czech Deputy Minister of Justice of the Czech Republic, Dr. Petr Mlsna, Ambassador of India H.E. Mr. V. Ashok, and other members of the diplomatic corps.

Other members of the WJA who have previously received the International Jurist Award are Mr. Justice Y. K. J. Yeung Sik Yuen, Chief Justice of Mauritius, Mr. Ram Jethmalani, Law Minister for India and former Chairman, Bar Council of India, Prof. Shimon Shetreet, International & Public Law, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, and The Late Mr. Fernando Pombo, President, International Bar Association (2007-2008) and Co-founder and Senior Partner of Gomez-Acebo & Pombo (1971-2011).

The World Jurist Association is proud of the achievements of Prof. Belohlavek and for his outstanding work in alternative dispute resolution, as well as his leadership and support in working to promote world peace through the Rule of Law.

In addition to the WJA members noted above, previous recipients of the Award include: Mr. Justice Peter Tomka, President, International Court of Justice; Mrs. Justice Rosalyn Higgins, President of International Court of Justice; The Rt. Hon. Lord Phillips, Chief Justice of United Kingdom; Ms. Justice Beverley McLachlin, Chief Justice of Canada; Mr. Justice Awn S Al- Khasawneh, Vice President of International Court of Justice; Mr. Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, Chief Justice of Pakistan; Mr. Justice Chan Sek Keong, Chief Justice of Singapore; The Rt. Hon. Lord Judge, Chief Justice of England & Wales; Mr. Justice Muzammel Hossain, Chief Justice of Bangladesh; Mr. Chief Justice Sonam Tobgye, Chief Justice of Bhutan; Mr. Justice Sundaresh Menon, Chief Justice of Singapore; The Rt. Hon. Lord Brian Gill, Lord President & Lord Justice General of Scotland; Ms. Justice Susan Gageby Denham, Chief Justice of Ireland; Mr. Michael Hwang SC, Chief Justice of Dubai International Financial Centre Courts; Dr. Tun Shin,  Attorney General of Myanmar; Mr. Antonio Maria Costa, Director General, United Nations Office on Drugs & Crime; Mr. Justice Hassan B. Jallow, Chief Prosecutor, UNICTR; Mr. Wm. T. (Bill) Robinson III, President, American Bar Association; Mr. Stephen L. Dreyfuss, President, Union Internationale des Avocats; Law Society of England & Wales, Hon’ble Society of Inner Temple; Sir Gavin Lightman, retired Judge, High Court of England; Ms. Fatou Bensouda, Head of Prosecution Division, International Criminal Court; Sir James R. Mancham, Founding President of Republic of Seychelles; Dr. Hadef Jawa’an Al Dhaheri, Minister of Justice, United Arab Emirates; Mr. Akira Kawamura, President, International Bar Association (2011-2012); Ms. Christiane Feral-Schuhl, President, Paris Bar; Malaysian Bar Council, Mauritius Bar Association; Prof. C. Donald Johnson, University of Georgia (USA).